Specify Certification
CPCI Specification Certification

How to specify CPCI Certification

  1. Precast concrete manufacturers to be certified to Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (CPCI) Plant Certification Program in [Architectural Precast Concrete Products, A1,] [Subcategory AT], [Precast and Prestressed Bridge Products, B,] [Subcategory] [B1] [BA1] [B2] [BA2] [B3] [BA3] [B4] [BA4] [Commercial Precast and Prestressed Concrete Products (Structural), C,] [Subcategory] [C1] [CA1] [C2] [CA2] [C3] [CA3] [C4] [CA4] [Precast Concrete Drainage Products, D,] [Subcategory] [D1] [Standard Products, S] prior to the time of bid.
  2. Only precast elements fabricated under the CPCI plant certification program to be acceptable, and plant certification is to be maintained for the duration of fabrication, [erection,] and until warranty expires.
  3. Precast fabrication to meet the requirements of CAN/CSA-A23.4-16, including Annexes A and B, together with PCI MNL-116 and 117 and CPCI certification requirements.
  4. Note: Visit for the CSA A23.4 category descriptions, and to view the most current list of CPCI certified plants.

Notes to Specifiers: Categories in Product Groups A, B, and C are listed in ascending order. For example, a plant certified to produce products in Category C4 is automatically certified to produce products in the preceding Categories C1, C2, and C3. However, a plant certified to produce products in Category C2 is certified for Category C1 but is not certified for Categories C3 or C4.

In addition, Group BA or CA supersedes Group B or C in the same category. For example, a plant certified to produce products in Category CA2 is certified for Categories C1, CA1, and C2, but it is not certified for Categories C3, CA3, C4, or CA4.

A product group and category should be determined and shown in the specifications for each type of precast concrete product used in a project. This will allow more than one precaster to submit bids on individual products. For example, a precaster with expertise in producing prestressed piling (with certification in C2) could submit a bid for only piles on a project that also included prestressed double-tees. Similarly, a producer with certification in C4 could submit a bid for the double-tees that either included or excluded the piling.

Important: Specify the most appropriate product group and category for the project. Do not select a higher category than necessary. Similarly, do not add “A” to a listing when it is not necessary to meet project requirements. Selecting an inappropriate group or category could restrict the number of available bidders.

What important benefits to owners, architects engineers and contractors receive?

  1. Easy identification of plants committed to fulfill the highest level of certification available in North America.
  2. Assurance that bidders have demonstrated their ability to manufacture quality products and have an ongoing quality system in place.
  3. Certified manufacturers with a confirmed capability to produce superior products and systems.
  4. The job will be done right the first time - saving time, money and headaches.
  5. Quality products help speed erection and reduce construction time.
  6. Deal with established producers who have earned a reputation for superior, reliable workmanship.
  7. No additional cost to you – CPCI Certified manufacturers pay all certification fees.
  8. Increased assurance to owners and designers that CPCI Certified manufacturers will furnish products ideally suited for each project.

Why Specifiy CPCI Certification Brochure - Download Here

CPCI Certification Brochure - Download Here

Your One Stop Shop For Certification Information
Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
PO Box 24058 Hazeldean, Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Tel: 613.232.2619
Toll Free: 1.877.937.2724
© 2018 All rights reserved.