Mobile Menu
PRECAST CONCRETE
CERTIFICATION
Notice
The Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (CPCI) and the Canadian Concrete Pipe and Precast Association (CCPPA) are pleased to announce a new joint venture to establish an independent entity for an enhanced and expanded third-party administered and audited certification program for both prestressed and non-prestressed precast concrete manufacturing facilities across Canada.
Both the CPCI and CCPPA recognize the mutual benefit for owners, contractors, and the precast concrete industry by combining the strengths of two well-established national plant certification programs, CPCI Certification Program for Structural, Architectural and Specialty Products and Production Processes (CPCI Certification) and the Plant Prequalification Program for Precast Concrete Drainage Products (PPP), into the new Canadian Precast Concrete Quality Assurance (CPCQA) Certification Program.
Product Groups and Categories

CSA A23.4 Clause 4: Categories, prequalification, design basis, and project samples and reviews

4.1 Categories

In this Standard, precast concrete products are divided into the following five categories and each category is divided into subcategories. Manufacturers may be prequalified in any or all of the product group classifications

Group A - Architectural Products

AT - Architectural Trim Units
Architectural Products

Group B - Bridges

B1 - Precast Bridge Products
B2 - Prestressed Miscellaneous Bridge Products
B3 - Prestressed Straight Strand Bridge Members
B4 - Prestressed Deflected Strand Bridge Members
BA1, BA2, BA3, BA4 - Bridge Products with an Architectural Finish

Group C - Commercial (Structural)

C1 - Precast Concrete Products
C2 Prestressed Hollow Core and Repetative Products
C3 - Prestressed Straight Strand Structural Members
C4 - Prestressed Deflected Strand Structural
CA1, CA2, CA3, CA4 - Commercial Products with an Architectural Finish

D - Drainage Products

D1 - Standard Precast Concrete Drainage Products

S - Standard Products

Group A (Architectural Products)

Group A shall include products that are decorative and establish the aesthetic character of a structure. These products shall be produced in accordance with the requirements of this Standard. Group A is divided into two categories:

  1. Architectural trim units (AT), shall be non-prestressed products with a high standard of finish quality and of relatively small size, can be installed with equipment of limited capacity. Products include sills, lintels, coping, cornices, quoins, medallions, bollards, benches, planters, and pavers. This category also includes specialty products specifically designed for a project but not commodity or ornamental units produced for wholesale or retail purposes.
  2. Architectural cladding and load bearing units (A1) shall be precast concrete building elements such as exterior cladding, load bearing and non-load bearing wall panels, spandrels, beams, mullions, columns, column covers, and other miscellaneous shapes. Elements may be conventionally reinforced and/or pretensioned or post-tensioned. Prequalification in this category includes category AT.

Note: Group A does not include structural products that exhibit a high degree of finish or texture, including unique colouration. Such products are included in Groups B and C.

Group B (Bridge Products) and Group BA (Bridge Products with Architectural Finishes)

General
Both Group B and Group BA products shall be produced in accordance with the requirements of this Standard.

Group B

Group B is divided into four categories:

  1. Precast concrete bridge products (B1) shall be conventionally reinforced precast concrete elements.

    Group B1 products include non-prestressed bridge beams or slabs, piling, sheet piling, pile caps, retaining wall elements, median barriers, parapet walls, sound barriers, and engineered box culverts and three-sided structures not referenced in other Standards.
  2. Prestressed miscellaneous bridge products (B2) are any precast concrete and pre-tensioned or post-tensioned elements, excluding superstructure beams. Prequalification in this category includes Category B1.
  3. Prestressed straight-strand bridge members (B3) include all precast concrete superstructure elements. Prequalification in this category includes categories B1 and B2. Group B3 products include box beams, segmental components, I-girders, bulb tees, stemmed members, solid slabs, and full or partial depth bridge deck slabs pretensioned or post-tensioned with straight strands.
  4. Prestressed deflected-strand bridge members (B4) shall include the same class of products as category B3 and which are pre-tensioned or post-tensioned with deflected strands. Prequalification in this category includes categories B1, B2, and B3.

Group BA

Group BA products shall be produced with the additional requirements for architectural finishes. Group BA is divided into the same four categories as Group B and are designated Categories BA1, BA2, BA3, and BA4. The category descriptions are identical with the category descriptions for Group B except that the manufacturer shall have the capability to apply architectural finishes in accordance with the provisions of this Standard. Prequalification in each BA category includes the preceding BA categories and supersedes the equivalent Group B category.

Group C (Commercial [Structural] Products) and Group CA (Commercial [Structural] Products w/ Architectural Finishes)

General
Groups C and CA shall include structural and non-structural elements of buildings and other structures, excluding bridges. These products shall be produced in accordance with the requirements of this Standard.

Group C

Group C is divided into four categories:

  1. Precast concrete products (C1) shall be conventionally reinforced precast concrete elements.

    Group C1 products include piling, sheet piling, pile caps, retaining wall elements, slabs, joists, stairs, seating members, columns, spandrels, beams, walls, tunnel segments or other similar products.
  2. Prestressed hollow core and repetitive products (C2) shall be precast concrete products with standard shapes that are generally produced by a repetitive process that may be mechanized and pretensioned or post-tensioned with straight strands. Prequalification in this category includes Category C1. Group C2 products include hollow core slabs, railroad ties and piling.
  3. Prestressed straight-strand structural members (C3) shall be precast concrete structural members pre-tensioned or post-tensioned with straight strand, Prequalification in this category includes Categories C1 and C2. Group C3 products include stemmed members, beams, columns, joists, and segmental components.
  4. Prestressed deflected-strand structural members (C4) include the same class of products as Category C3 that are pre-tensioned or post-tensioned with deflected strands. Prequalification in this category includes Categories C1, C2, and C3.

Group CA

Group CA products shall be produced with the additional requirements for architectural finishes. Group CA is divided into the same four categories as Group C and are designated as Categories CA1, CA2, CA3, and CA4. The category descriptions are identical with the category description in Group C, except that the manufacturer must have demonstrated the capability to apply architectural finishes in accordance with the provisions of this Standard. Prequalification in each CA category includes the preceding CA categories and supersedes the equivalent Group C category.

Group D (Drainage Products)

Group D products shall include reinforced, non-prestressed concrete structural elements with a primary function of drainage, and their related components. Group D products are produced in accordance with the standard requirements of CSA Standard A23.4.

Products in Group D1 are box units with span greater than 3m, Open footing (3-sided) precast units with flat top slab or arch top - all sizes, Precast components for culverts such as wingwalls, retaining walls, headwalls, parapet walls, strip footings, pile caps, load distribution slabs, etc., rectangular manholes and chambers - all sizes.

Group S (standard products)

Group S products shall include plain or reinforced concrete elements, without architectural finishes that are not included in Groups A, B, BA, C, or CA and are required to be manufactured in accordance with the provisions of this Standard. Products in Group S are often manufactured for a particular application in custom built forms on-demand or kept in inventory.

CPCQA CERTIFICATION...SUPERIOR QUALITY ASSURANCE!

CPCQA - PO Box 33039 Franklin PO, Cambridge, Ontario, N1R 8R8

W: precastcertification.ca | E: QACAdministrator@precastcertification.ca

© 2019 All rights reserved.

Mobile Menu
CERTIFICATION DU
BÉTON PRÉFABRIQUÉ
Groupes de produits et catégories

CSA A23.4, clause 4 : catégories, préqualification, bases de calcul, échantillons et examens du projet

4.1 Catégories

Dans cette norme, les produits en béton préfabriqué sont divisés en cinq catégories, elles-mêmes divisées en sous-catégories. Les fabricants peuvent obtenir la préqualification pour un ou plusieurs des groupes de produits suivants :

Groupe A — Produits architecturaux

TA — moulage décoratif architectural ; et produits architecturaux

Groupe B — Ponts

B1 — éléments de ponts en béton préfabriqué ;
B2 — éléments de ponts en béton précontraint ;
B3 — éléments de ponts en béton précontraint à torons droits ;
B4 — éléments de ponts en béton précontraint à torons fléchis ;
et BA1, BA2, BA3, BA4 — éléments de ponts à revêtement architectural.

Groupe C — Commercial (structural)

C1 — éléments en béton préfabriqué ;
C2 — éléments en béton précontraint à noyau creux produits à la chaîne ;
C3 — éléments structuraux en béton précontraint à torons droits ;
C4 — éléments structuraux en béton précontraint à torons fléchis ;
et CA1, CA2, CA3, CA4 — éléments commerciaux à revêtement architectural.

Groupe D — Produits de drainage

D1 — Produits de drainage normalisés en béton préfabriqué.

Groupe S — Produits normalisés

Groupe A (produits architecturaux)

Le groupe A doit inclure les éléments qui sont décoratifs et qui établissent le caractère esthétique d’une structure. Ces éléments doivent être fabriqués conformément à cette norme. Le groupe A se divise en deux catégories :

  1. Le moulage décoratif architectural (AT) : s’entend des éléments non précontraints présentant un fini de grande qualité, de dimensions relativement petites et qui peuvent être installés au moyen d’un appareillage de capacité limitée. Ces éléments incluent les appuis, les linteaux, les chaperons, les corniches, les pierres d’angle, les médaillions, les bornes de protection, les bancs, les bacs à fleurs et les pavés. Cette catégorie comprend également les produits spéciaux conçus spécifiquement pour un projet, mais qui ne sont pas des produits courants ou décoratifs produits en masse et destinés à la vente en gros ou au détail.
  2. Le revêtement architectural et les éléments porteurs (A1) : des éléments en béton préfabriqué comme les revêtements extérieurs, les panneaux porteurs et non porteurs, les murs-tympans, les poutres, les meneaux, les poteaux, les habillages de poteau et autres. Ces éléments peuvent être faits de béton à armature classique et/ou de béton précontraint ou post-contraint. Un fabricant qui obtient la préqualification pour cette catégorie est automatiquement préqualifié pour la catégorie AT.

Note: Le groupe A n’inclue pas les éléments de charpente très élaborés ou très texturés, ou d’une couleur particulière. Ces produits appartiennent aux groupes B et C.

Groupe B (ponts) et groupe BA (ponts à revêtement architectural)

Généralités
Les éléments appartenant aux groupes B et BA doivent être fabriqués conformément à cette norme.

Group B

Le groupe B se divise en quatre catégories:

  1. Les éléments de pont en béton préfabriqué (B1) : des éléments en béton préfabriqué à armature classique.

    Les produits appartenant au groupe B1 comprennent les poutres ou dalles de pont, les pieux, les palplanches, les avant-pieux, les murs de soutènement, les barrières centrales, les parapets, les écrans antibruit, les dalots et les structures à trois côtés en béton non précontraint non visés par d’autres normes.
  2. Les éléments de pont en béton précontraint (B2) : les éléments en béton préfabriqué et les éléments précontraints ou post-contraints, à l’exclusion des poutres des superstructures. Un fabricant qui obtient la préqualification pour cette catégorie est automatiquement préqualifié pour la catégorie B1.
  3. Les éléments de ponts en béton précontraint à torons droits (B3) : tous les éléments de préfabriqué des superstructures. Un fabricant qui obtient la préqualification pour cette catégorie est automatiquement préqualifié pour les catégories B1 et B2. Les produits appartenant au groupe B3 comprennent les poutres-caissons, les éléments segmentés, les poutres en I, des poutres en T à âme élargie, les éléments à tiges multiples, les dalles pleines et les dalles pleine profondeur ou de profondeur partielle de tabliers de pont, précontraints ou post-contraints au moyen de torons droits.
  4. Les éléments de ponts en béton précontraint à torons fléchis (B4) : comprennent les mêmes produits que ceux de la catégorie B3, précontraints ou post-contraints au moyen de torons fléchis. Un fabricant qui obtient la préqualification pour cette catégorie est automatiquement préqualifié pour les catégories B1, B2 et B3.

Groupe BA

Les produits appartenant au groupe BA doivent en plus être conformes aux exigences visant les revêtements architecturaux. Le groupe BA se divise en quatre catégories, les mêmes que celles du groupe B soient les catégories BA1, BA2, BA3 et BA4. La description des catégories est identique à celle du groupe B, sauf que le fabricant doit être en mesure d’appliquer les revêtements architecturaux conformément à cette norme. Un fabricant qui obtient la préqualification pour une des catégories BA est automatiquement préqualifié pour les autres catégories BA et cette préqualification prime sur la préqualification pour les catégories du groupe B.

Groupe C (produits commerciaux [structuraux]) et groupe CA (produits commerciaux [structuraux à revêtement architectura])

Généralités
Les groupes C et CA incluent les éléments structuraux et non structuraux de bâtiments et autres structures à l’exclusion des ponts. Ces produits doivent être fabriqués conformément à cette norme.

Groupe C

Le groupe C se divise en quatre catégories:

  1. Les éléments en béton préfabriqué (C1) : éléments en béton préfabriqué à armature classique. Les produits appartenant au groupe C1 comprennent les pieux, les palplanches, les avant-pieux, les murs de soutènement, les dalles, les solives, les escaliers, les sièges, les poteaux, les murs-tympans, les poutres, les murs, les segments de tunnel et autres semblables.
  2. Les éléments en béton précontraint à noyau creux produits à la chaîne (C2) : éléments en béton préfabriqué de formes normalisées généralement fabriqués à la chaîne selon un procédé automatisé et précontraints ou post-contraints au moyen de torons droits. Un fabricant qui obtient la préqualification pour cette catégorie est automatiquement préqualifié pour la catégorie C1. Les produits appartenant au groupe C2 comprennent les dalles à âme creuse, les traverses de voie et les pieux.
  3. Les éléments structuraux en béton précontraint à torons droits (C3) : éléments structuraux en béton préfabriqué précontraints ou post-contraints au moyen de torons droits. Un fabricant qui obtient la préqualification pour cette catégorie est automatiquement préqualifié pour les catégories C1 et C2. Les produits appartenant au groupe C3 comprennent les éléments à tiges multiples, les poutres, les poteaux, les solives et les éléments segmentés.
  4. Les éléments structuraux en béton précontraint à torons fléchis (C4) : les mêmes produits que ceux de la catégorie C3 précontraints ou post-contraints au moyen de torons fléchis. Un fabricant qui obtient la préqualification pour cette catégorie est automatiquement préqualifié pour les catégories C1, C2 et C3.

Groupe CA

Les produits appartenant au groupe CA doivent en plus être conformes aux exigences visant les revêtements architecturaux. Le groupe CA se divise en quatre catégories, les mêmes que celles du groupe C, soit les catégories CA1, CA2, CA3 et CA4. La description des catégories est identique à celle du groupe C, sauf que le fabricant doit être en mesure d’appliquer les revêtements architecturaux conformément à cette norme. Un fabricant qui obtient la préqualification pour une des catégories CA est automatiquement préqualifié pour les autres catégories CA et cette préqualification prime sur la préqualification pour les catégories du groupe C.

Groupe D (produits de drainage)

Les produits appartenant au groupe D comprennent les éléments structuraux en béton armé non précontraint conçus principalement pour le drainage, et les composants associés. Les produits appartenant au groupe D doivent être fabriqués conformément à la norme CSA A23.4.

Les produits appartenant au groupe D1 sont :

  1. les boîtes d’une portée supérieure à 3 m ;
  2. les éléments de coffrage ouvert (à trois côtés) en béton préfabriqué avec dalle supérieure plate ou voûtée – toutes dimensions ;
  3. les éléments en béton préfabriqué pour les dalots, comme les murs en ailes, les murs de soutènement, les murs de tête, les parapets, les semelles filantes, les avant-pieux, les dalles de répartition de charges, etc. ; et
  4. les trous d’homme et ouvertures rectangulaires – toutes dimensions.

Groupe S (produits normalisés)

Les produits appartenant au groupe S comprennent les éléments en béton armé ou non armé, sans revêtement architectural qui ne font pas partie du groupe A, B, BA, C, CA ou D et qui doivent être fabriqués conformément à cette norme. Les produits appartenant au groupe S sont parfois conçus pour une application particulière dans des coffrages faits sur mesure sur demande ou gardés en réserve.

LA CERTIFICATION AQBPC...UNE ASSURANCE QUALITÉ SUPÉRIEURE !

AQBPC - C.P. 33039, BP Franklin, Cambridge, Ontario, N1R 8R8

W: precastcertification.ca | E: QACAdministrator@precastcertification.ca

© 2022 Tous droits réservés.